Relating to Insecurities

There are many ways that this book is relatable. I think one of the biggest relatable aspects of this comic was the theme of insecurities. I know that through everyone’s high school experiences, they feel insecure, whether it be about their weight, sexuality, looks, or something deeper, everyone has their insecurities and it can be a difficult time trying to come to terms with the insecurities. I think a lot of the conflict that was involved in the book was within Ariel and herself, trying to come to terms with who she is. I can relate to that, a lot, in terms of wondering who I am and who I’m going to be, and who I’m supposed to be, rather than what others want me to be. I think with Ariel being so open about everything in her experiences and her graphic novel can help readers understand that their insecurities could be the same insecurities others are experiencing. With Ariel being so open, it helps understand that everyone goes through the same structure of high school, which includes having insecurities that you have to go through to realize who you are and how you are to overcome them.

-Chelsey

4 thoughts on “Relating to Insecurities”

  1. Same girl. I found that while reading this book I was able to relate to Ariel through her lack self security. I know that’s bad to say, but like you said- everyone has insecurities and it was nice to be able to relate to a character that wasn’t perfect. In high school I was the same- unsure, confused, lost, thought that those 4 years were my end all and be all. Then I came across this video by John Green and his brother Hank, check it out. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CWSZxZK6v_c. It made me feel a little less heavy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

